Departmental News & Honors

Visit and like our Facebook page!

Nik Heynen will be promoted to professor effective in August.

Professor Marshall Shepherd was named the first UGA Athletic Association professor in the social sciences.

Undergraduate student Camille Gregory received the Merle C. Prunty Scholarship at the annual meeting of the Southeast Division of the Association of American Geographers (SEDAAG) in Asheville. The scholarship is named in honor of the founding head of our department.

Emeritus Professor Kathy Parker received the SEDAAG Lifetime Achievement Award.

Associate Professor John Knox was named one of the recipients of the Richard B. Russell Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching. Knox previously received the Franklin College's Sandy Beaver Excellence in Teaching Award and is a three-time recipient of the Student Government Association's Professor Recognition Award. In 2012, he was chosen as one of the nation's "Best 300 Professors" by the Princeton Review.

Graduate student Kyle Mattingly won the Meteorological Satellite Applications Award at the National Weather Association annual meeting in Nashville. Kyle’s award was for his work on remote sensing of convective storms over South America.

Garret Herrin, a junior geography major from Brunswick, GA, was one of ten selected undergraduate students to serve as UGA’s University Scholars at the inaugural Southeastern Conference Symposium held February 10-12 at the Hyatt Regency, Atlanta, GA.

The tornado debris research led by John Knox is receiving widespread media attention, including stories on NBC, NPR, ABC, Fox News, Weather Channel, and ABC. The work, published in the Bulletin of the American Meteorological Society, included co-authors Jared Rackley, Alan Black, Victor Gensini, Michael Butler, Corey Dunn, Taylor Gallo, Melyssa Hunter, Lauren Lindsey, Minh Phan, Bobby Scroggs, and Synne Brustad.

Graduate student Alana Shaw received a National Science Foundation Doctoral Dissertation Research Improvement Grant for her work on the Inupiaq people and Arctic offshore development.

Graduate student Levi Van Sant received a research fellowship from the Harvard Program on the Study of Capitalism.

Professor and Department Head Thomas Mote received a Creative Research Medal for his work on climate change in the cryosphere.

Graduate student Byungyun Yang, CGR associate director Tommy Jordan and Professor Marguerite Madden were featured in an Athens Banner-Herald story this summer on coastal mapping.

Marshall Shepherd and John Knox have a widely distributed opinion piece on the importance of improved weather forecasting, in light of Hurricane Sandy. Their piece has appeared in numerous media outlets in the U.S. and abroad.

Lowery Parker received a SSRC pre-dissertation research fellowship for her work on genetically modified seeds, philanthrocapital and sovereignty in Burkina Faso and Kenya.

Andy Grundstein was quoted in the Atlanta Journal Constitution on his work (with John Knox and several current and former students) regarding hypothermia in football players.

Graduate student Mingshu Wang will work in the Conservation Strategy and Science Program of the World Wildlife Fund (WWF) in Washington, DC this summer assisting their GIS specialist with habitat quality modeling of the Sunda Banda Seascape in Indonesia.

Thomas Mote’s work on the unusual 2012 summer melt in Greenland resulted in media interviews with NPR, PBS News Hour, New York Times, NBC, and BBC, among others.

Assistant Professor Deepak Mishra was interviewed by the German Public Radio for the third anniversary of the BP oil spill.

Marshall Shepherd delivered a talk at a TEDx event in Atlanta in May. TEDx is an independently organized TED event.

Danielle Haskett received the 2012 Geologic Society of America Graduate Student Research Award.

Michael Husebo won the AAG Economic Geography Specialty Group 2012 Best Student Paper Award Competition for his work entitled “Labor Activism Beyond the Union: Contesting Capital in the Sphere of Social Reproduction.”

Alan Black was selected and participated as a graduate student in the Weather and Society*Integrated Studies (WAS*IS) program at the National Center for Atmospheric Research.

Alan Black’s research proposal, “Vulnerability of Motorists to Winter Precipitation in the United States” received an Honorable Mention and cash prize in the 2013 AAG Graduate Student Affinity Group Research Award Competition.

Steve Padgett-Vasquez was named the Distinguished Young Alumnus from Thomas University in Thomasville, Georgia.

Graduate student Amanda Schroeder was named a student member of the American Meteorological Society's Board on the Urban Environment beginning in January. (Amanda also just accepted a position with the National Weather Service in Texas. Congratulations, Amanda!)

Recent graduate Woo Jang will receive the best dissertation award from the AAG Transportation specialty group for his work entitled, "Spatial Dynamics of Disaggregated Urban Commuting Patterns" at the AAG meeting in Los Angeles. (Woo is now an assistant professor at Minnesota State University-Mankato.)

Graduate student Binita KC led a team of authors on the poster titled, “Climate Change Vulnerability in Nepal using NASA EOS” that won the NASA DEVELOP virtual poster competition sponsored by ESRI.

Camille Gregory landed a job with McKinsey Consulting. She is one of only four UGA students to get a job with one of the “big three” consulting firms this year.

Garret Herrin was selected as one of 10 undergraduate students to serve as UGA's University Scholars at the inaugural Southeastern Conference Symposium.

Graduate student Sergio Bernardes received the 2013 Z/I Imaging Scholarship, an award given by the ASPRS to recognize new and innovative uses of signal processing, image processing techniques, and the application of photogrammetry.

The AMS Student Chapter placed second in the poster competition at the recent AMS meeting in Austin.

Graduate Students Pete Akers, Craig Ramseyer, Catarina Passidomo, and Jason Rhodes received Outstanding Teaching Awards from the Graduate School. Congratulations to all four, and thanks for your hard work in the classroom!

Professor Steve Holloway received an Innovation in Multicultural Curriculum award from the Franklin College.

Associate Professor Dave Porinchu received an SEC Visiting Faculty Award to work at the University of Tennessee this summer.

Amy Ross, associate professor of geography, was named a Research Director for the Social Science Research Council on the topic “Critical Approaches to Human Rights”.

The article “Dockers And Seafarers: What The Politics of Spatial Embeddedness And Geographical Scale Have Meant for Union Organizing in the European Maritime Trades,” authored by Andy Herod, received a Best Article award from the journal Labor Geography.

Amy Ross served as an official international observer for the upcoming trial of Efrain Rios Montt in Guatemala. This trial will serve as a precedent in international law. It is the first time that a national court has prosecuted a former head of state for genocide in the nation where the crime occurred.

Marshall Shepherd briefed a U.S. Senate subcommittee chaired by Sen. Barbara Boxer on aspects of climate science.

Andy Grundstein participated in the group that helped develop new guidelines on heat stress for high school athletes, sponsored by the Georgia High School Association.