Departmental News & Awards

Graham Pickren has received an Office of Sustainability grant for the DawgsDitch the Dumpster Move-Out Donation program to collect electronic waste.

Tommy Jordan was also mentioned in Columns for speaking at the GeoDesign Summit on work integrating aerial and terrestrial LIDAR. The summit is a "think tank conference" focusing on the evolution of technology that is at the intersection of design and geographic space.

Catarina Passidomo received the Graduate School Dean’s Award in Social Sciences in December. Fausto Sarmiento was elected to the Nominating Committee of the Association of American Geographers. (If you want to run for a position in AAG, contact Fausto.)

Marshall Shepherd was named Outstanding Alumni of the Year by the Florida State University Black Alumni Association. Marshall also received the Excellence in Diversity Leadership Award from the Franklin College. Marshall has been named to NOAA's Science Advisory Board, which advises the Under Secretary of Commerce for Oceans and Atmosphere on strategies for research, education and the application of science.

Ujjaini Das won the 2012 Student Research Enhancement Grant from the AAG Qualitative Research Specialty Group for her proposal, “Confronted with Managing E-Waste in Delhi: Embedding the Developmental State in Environmental Justice Research.”

Andy Herod has been selected as the recipient of the 2012 Office for International Education (OIE) Study Abroad Award for his efforts in developing and directing the outstanding UGA à Paris program.

Marguerite Madden received the American Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (ASPRS) SAIC Estes Memorial Teaching Award for 2011 and was nominated for Vice President for the International Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (ISPRS) Council.

Sergio Bernardes received the William A. Fischer Memorial Scholarship from ASPRS.

Al Parker received the Lothar Tresp Outstanding Honors Professor Award from the Honors Program. Amy Ross received the J. Hatten Howard III Teaching Award from the Honors Program.

Amy Ross has received an internationalization award from the Office for International Education for her project, "Segregated Memories: Lessons for the US from South Africa".

Political Geography named a publication authored by Hilda Kurtz, "Scale frames and counter-scale frames: Constructing the problem of environmental justice", as one of the 15 most influential articles over the journal’s 30-year history (see for the list).

Research on football-related hypothermia by Andy Grundstein and John Knox has been featured in numerous media outlets. Several current and former students also contributed: Craig Ramseyer, Fang Zhao, Jordan Lieberman, Pete Akers, Aneela Qureshi, Laura Becker and Myron Petro. Former student Pete Campana, along with Andy Grundstein and John Knox, were featured in media reports on the recent Georgia drought.

The UGA WxChallenge national forecasting team has won several individual trophies for their categories so far this year. Winners include: Jeremiah Grant (2nd place Riverton, WY), Alan Black (1st place, New Orleans), Jared Rackley (2nd place, New Orleans), and Minh Phan (New Orleans). John Knox was a two-time faculty winner (1st place New Orleans, 2nd place Providence, RI). Matt Daniel won the alumni category (New Orleans).